Simons Foundation Providing Support to Researchers in Ukraine

Simons Foundation, January 2023

Scientists and mathematicians in Ukraine are continuing to conduct their research in the face of Russian bombings, failing power grids, Internet disruptions and shattered windows. Today, the Simons Foundation is announcing its support of 405 Ukrainian mathematicians, biologists, physicists and chemists who remain in Ukraine. In total, the foundation will award more than $1.2 million in funding over 12 months.

Colin Hill and Oliver Philcox Among Winners of Buchalter Cosmology Prize

Simons Foundation, January 2023

First place for this year’s Buchalter Cosmology Prize went to a paper co-authored by Colin Hill, until recently a Flatiron Institute associate research scientist and currently an assistant professor at Columbia University, and Junior Fellow of the Simons Society of Fellows Oliver Philcox, also of Columbia. The prize aims to “support the development of new theories, observations, or methods, that can help illuminate the puzzle of cosmic expansion from first principles.”

How the ‘Hell Planet’ Got So Hot

Simons Foundation, December 2022

New research sheds light on how the “hell planet” got so devilishly hot and how other worlds might become too toasty for life. That rocky world, 55 Cnc e (nicknamed “Janssen”), orbits its star so closely that a year lasts just 18 hours, its surface is a giant lava ocean, and its interior may be chock-full of diamond.

Simons Foundation Opens Applications for Independence Awards

Simons Foundation, November 2022

The Simons Foundation is committed to supporting scientists as they transition from mentored training to their first independent research positions. To that end, the foundation offers three independence awards through its Simons Foundation Autism Research Initiative (SFARI), Simons Collaboration on the Global Brain (SCGB) and Simons Collaboration on Plasticity and the Aging Brain (SCPAB).